Account Properties

Once an account has been selected, the following properties can be viewed and/or configured for users. Properties are organized into the following categories.

General

Account Property Description
Name Name that uniquely identifies the account within HP Insights. It is displayed to users when they are selecting an account to charge.
Code A unique code assigned to the account for internal identification purposes.
Status Shows whether an account is enabled or not.
Start Date (Optional ) The Start Date specifies when the account becomes available for users.
Expiry Date (Optional)

Expiry date of the account.

When an account expires in HP Insights, it is kept for reporting purposes but is no longer active for use. This means that users will not be able to charge any new printing jobs to the expired account.

Allocation

In the Allocation section, choose the type of account. Choose between:

  • Individual Account – Each user receives their own separate account with a dedicated allocation of points. Example: If User A has their own account with 100 points and User B has their own separate account with 100 points, each user can use their entire 100-point allocation independently.

  • Shared Account – A single pool of points is shared among all users assigned to the account. This is ideal for departments orproject teams where multiple users need access to shared printing resources. Example: If an account is allocated 100 points, every user who has access to the account will have the same 100 points available. If one user consumes some points (e.g., printing), the total pool is reduced, and all users share this common point pool.

  • In the Limit field, specify the maximum number of points allowed for the account.

Note: Leaving the Limit field blank creates an unlimited account. An unlimited account imposes no restrictions on the amount of printing a user can do. For users, the allocation will display only the set number of points, without showing a hard limit value (e.g., 50 points instead of 50/100).

  • (Optional): Allow limit to be exceeded. This lets administrators define an extra amount of “grace” points that users are allowed to exceed beyond the set limit displayed to the user. Set the By Amount field to specify how many additional points are allowed beyond the limit.

Printing Declined Notification appears when the user has exceeded their allocated limit or the maximum allowable limit (if Allow limit to be exceeded setting is configured).

Account Limit Warning appears when a user exceeds their allocated limit but remains within the maximum allowable limit. This only applies if the "Allow limit to be exceeded" checkbox is enabled and a permitted value beyond the limit is set.

Access

  • All Users: If selected, the account will be accessible to all users. This means that anyone within the organization can use the account without any specific restrictions.

  • Specific Groups and Users: If selected, access to the account can be controlled by specifying which users or groups are allowed to use it.

    • Groups: Specify the groups that are permitted to use this account. Members of the designated groups will have access to the account.

    • Users: Enter the individual users who are permitted to use this account. Only these specified users will have access.

Note: When a user loses access to an account (e.g. account expiry, group or user has been moved from the account). If the account is set up as an active account for the user, it will continue to be used for up to 12 hours after the change.

Note: When you add a new account in the Account Management tab, it will typically appear in the end user portal after the default cache period of 12 hours. However, if you want to see the new account immediately, you can click the "Upload" button to update the portal right away.