Manage your active account in the User Portal

The Active Account is the account currently selected for printing and copying. When users have access to multiple accounts, charges are applied to the Active Account unless the user selects a different account before submitting or releasing a job.

Note: The initial active account is the first one listed alphabetically in the web console. For example, if you have two accounts named "Library" and "Science," the initial active account will be "Library."

Viewing an Active Account

From the User Portal: Open the User Portal. The active account is displayed next to the login account.

From Print Scout: Right-click the HP Secure Print icon.

From the mobile app: Launch the HP JetAdvantage Secure Print mobile app; the Active Account appears under Review Print Jobs.

Changing Active Account

From the User Portal: Users can change the account for a job through the User Portal. Clicking on Change Account opens the User Portal, and lets users change the active account.

The User Portal can be launched in a few ways:

  • Directly, via the User Portal link provided by your administrator.

  • Via the desktop app: right-click the HP Secure Print icon and select Open User Portal.

    When the User Portal opens, click on the Active Account option to change the active account.

  • Via the notification on the desktop app: when you send a job, a notification pops up with an option to Change Account. Clicking the Change Account opens the User Portal and lets you change the active account.

    Note: Changing the account via the notification will only update the account for the most recently submitted document. It will not affect the account for any previously submitted documents. However, all future jobs will use the newly selected active account.

From the mobile app: Open the HP JetAdvantage Secure Print mobile app and click on the Active Account section to change the active account.